International Organisation for Standardisation (ISO)

back to overview

Headquarters in Geneva

  • 165 members (full/corresponding members)
  • More than 20,400 standards in the programme
  • Sub-division of the specialist areas into Technical Committees, there are 238 TCs (521 SC)

– ISO/TC 1 Screw threads,

ISO/TC 164 Mechanical testing of metals

– ISO/TC 293 Feed machinery

In the Technical Committees there are:

– Participating members, and

– Observing members

The technical work is performed by experts (100,000) in working groups.

Hardness testing belongs to ISO/TC 164 Mechanical testing of metals, which in turn is divided into 5 subcommittees.

ISO/TC 164/SC 3 Hardness testing

Secretariat: Based within DIN

Secretary: Dipl.-Phys. Jenny Blum (DIN)

Chairman: Dr. rer. nat. Michael Griepentrog (BAM)

23 participating members | 9 observing members

ISO/TC 164/SC3 currently has direct responsibility for 22 standardisation processes.



back to overview