How to read and represent a Rockwell hardness value

Back to overview

A Rockwell hardness value consists of three components:

1. A numeric hardness value
2. The two letters "HR", standing for "Hardness according to Rockwell"
3. The Rockwell scale designation, defining the combination of main load (total test force) and type of indenter used in the corresponding Rockwell method.

Note: Test methods using a spherical indenter must also be identified with a "W" since the standard amendment in March 2015 in the ISO 6508. The "W" provides information about the ball material (tungsten (=wolfram) carbide).

Examples of how to represent and read a Rockwell hardness value according to

a. "regular" Rockwell procedure, method HRC: 45 HRC
45 …hardness value
HR …as per Rockwell
C …with 150 kgf main load and diamond 120° indenter

b. Super Rockwell procedure (Superficial Rockwell), method HR30T: 80 HR30TW
80 …hardness value
HR …as per Rockwell
30 …with main load 30 kgf
TW …and 1/16-inch ball indenter made of tungsten carbide

Back to overview